Top Ten Tuesday: Lets Get Reading

Oh well hello again Blogosphere!! 😀 How absolutely delightful to encounter you again! 😀 Its been far too long since I have indulged in the delight of a Top Ten Tuesday, or  any book blogging really.  Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted over at the fabulous The Broke and the Bookish, swing by and give them some love.

This week we were give a rewind, so we get to go ahead and pick a past topic that we missed or would like to rehash. I am going to tackle Top Ten Books On Your Fall TBR List. Seeing as I was mia at the time of the post I figure its a good jumping of post because boy do I have a stack of books waiting for me to tackle it!


1. A Hero for WondLa byTony DiTerlizzi:
When I read the first book I was floored by the amazing world Di’Terlizzi had built. It was not only beautiful, well described and incredibly unique, it was enormous. So when I finished the first book I promised myself to grab the second book as soon as it came out. Weeeeeell I didn’t, I only picked up this book a couple of weeks ago, and have been swamped in the interim. Its sitting provocatively on my coffee table asking me to read it and by golly if I dont get to it soon.

2. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs: I cant even remember how long ago I picked this one up, somewhere around the time it was released I think. What I do remember was being absolutely terrified when I read it!! Please note that I have a very weak threshold when it comes to scary things, and this books scared my pants right off!! But that make it perfect for EOG Book Club this month as we have decided to embrace the spirit of October and read horror/spooky stories (the spooky part came from myself and a friend who are total horror wimps). So its time to overcome my fears and tackle this one!

3. Kill Order by James Dashner: This is another title I have been eagerly awaiting! The whole Maze Runner series is one of the most brilliantly executed story lines I’ve ever read. Dashner does something absolutely amazing, and is a master of suspense, making this one wiggle its way to the top of my pile.

4. Harry Potter books 4 – 7 by J.K. Rowling: As some of you might know I never grew up reading the Harry Potter series and that has recently spawned a project of going through and reading them and typing up my thought and feeling on a series that has shaped the childhoods of a generation. I’d really love to have finished reading them before Christmas and have corresponding posts written up that I can slowly release a month at a time.

 5. The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson: This was recommended to me by a close bibliophile friend as Maureen Johnson is one of her favourite authors. The premise as compared to Johnsons other works seemed the most appealing, and I am actually pretty excited to dive into a book I know someone else personally recommended.

6. The Infinite Day by Chris Walley: For this one I might actually end up having to re-read the whole series! I started reading this series years ago, and as its actually a pretty obscure title I had a heck of a time tracking down the individual parts (especially when the first two books were combined into a singular volume and ordering the third book actually got me the last book in the series rather then the third, which had become the second after the combining of the first two books… blah) But I’ve read the first two (or in my case 3 as I have the first two as separate novels), and started in on the 3rd and for whatever reason lost my steam. I’m not surprised. It actually took a number of years and reread just to get through the first one (thats what I get for trying to read such a spiritually and emotionally loaded book at 13). I’d love to finish off and see how the whole epic ends, but I’m thinking it might call for a total rehash of the whole series.

7. Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini: Another once you can attribute to a running series. This one was more deliberate in its hiatus. I remember the loooong, loooong wait between the first and second book, and what felt like an even longer wait between the second and third. So even after purchasing the third book, I promised I wouldn’t read it until the fourth one was out. Now obviously it camp out last November, so I’m thinking its more then time to jump on this train and get back to reading.

8. Libriomancer by Jim C. Hines: This one I haven’t actually picked up yet, it just came out in August and I am super excited to grab a copy! After reading and falling in love with his amazing take on our classic fairy tale characters in his Princess Series, I cant wait to jump into his newest series.

9. Crossed by Ally Condie: I’m actually very excited to read this one! My friend borrowed me a copy of Matched last month and I whipped through that puppy right fast. I honestly did not think I would like it even a little as it was marketed as a dystopian love story for teens. Yeah… no thanks… But the world that was created and the amazing structure given to the society were the real show stoppers. Yes there was a love story, but it felt secondary to the plot rather then running the plot like I had feared. Now I am excited to jump back into the same world and see where it takes me this time.

10. My Enormous Stack of Comics by Various: Earlier this year a friend introduced me to the wonderful world of comics.  I had dabbled here and there , mostly due to my moms well meaning habit of picking me comic adaptations of Jane Austen novels. I loved my manga, and that was good enough for me. I had no desire to read all about super heros all day. She helped me learn that not all comics are about super heros,  and not all super hero comic are bad. So now, some six months later, I’ve grown what feels to me to be a decent litte collection and a whole new appreciation for sequential art. This has spawned another project I hope to start up called Sequential Genesis, in which I will explore both comics and manga, giving reviews and insite into titles, and hopefully convincing you that this can be literature too.

What books are you hoping to get to this fall?

Author: TheLastTriffid

A little about me you say? Well what can I tell you? I'm a lady in my 20's with a passion for life and a willingness to dive right in. I adore being creative, from crafting to writing, painting, sewing, reading singing. You know, all that fun stuff. Not saying I'm super spectacular at any of those, but i sure do love them anyway! :D

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Lets Get Reading”

  1. I haven’t read a lot of these. I read Matched and I own Crossed, but I’m just not excited enough about the series to get around to it. I am also very unmotivated about finishing the Inheritance Cycle since the wait between books three and four was so long. (I was never too thrilled about Paolini’s writing, and the wait didn’t help!)

    1. I hear what your saying on both accounts.
      For Crossed I might just be living off the contact high of a book I really thought I would hate being unexpectedly amazing. Also the ending left me annoyed and wanting to know what was going on.
      The Inheritance Cycle Is more of a determination thing, I invested a lot of time into reading and waiting for the other books that it would feel like a loss to just let it die off…..

  2. Miss Peregrine and Name of the Star look like especially good fall reads. I may have to join you with those two! Love that you are reading the Harry Potter series, how fun! Happy fall reading 🙂

  3. OMG your name is Micheline too! Wow! I never grew up reading Harry Potter as well, when I read them first I was around 25 but they are to this day my favorite books ever written! I also have The Inheritance Cycle on my reading list as well as book 3 in the ‘Matched’ series! I hope you enjoy Crossed when you get around to it!

    Here’s my TTT post

    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows

Leave a Reply

